Gender Reveal Cake Pops and a Smash Cake

Hello my long lost friends! I probably should apologize for my short hiatus, but I’m not going to make any excuses. Bottom line is my real life takes precedence over the cyber one. This time of year tends to get nuts for everyone. Work (for me) always gets a little crazier, “run season” shifts into full gear with training and races, the baking is non-stop, and of course as the holidays approach, the social calendar just keeps building. Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining at ALL. But it does reach a point where I have to stop and figure out where my priorities rank. I think that’s one of the keys to keeping stress levels down- figuring out what’s important to you and your well being and what can be put off. I am constantly telling my students, “You don’t HAVE to do anything.”  They get excited for a minute before I remind them of the potential consequences of their decisions. But really, we don’t have to do anything. I think sometimes we forget that. The holidays are supposed to be a time of giving and joy, not “I just need to make it through the next few days”.

One of the main reasons why I love baking is getting to share and celebrate joyous moments with friends. The past few weeks I’ve done a couple of projects for dear friends celebrating various events in their lives. One friend found out that she was having a boy and wanted to share that with her family with cake pops. I made vanilla cake pops (colored blue of course) and covered them in white candy bark.

Gender Reveal Cake Pops
Gender Reveal Cake Pops
It's a Boy!
It’s a Boy!

Another friend was celebrating her boy’s first birthday. I made the gender reveal cake for this couple over a year ago, and I was excited to make a smash cake for my favorite one year old. I’ve watched him grow up this past year and can’t believe he’s already one! Pretty sure he’s a customer for life since his momma started him on my cake in the womb.

Dinosaur Smash Cake
Dinosaur Smash Cake
Dinosaur Smash Cake
Dinosaur Smash Cake
Cutest kid ever!
Cutest kid ever!

Happy baking this week!

Leave a Reply

