Salted Whiskey Truffles

I somehow fooled myself into thinking October would be slow. So wrong. The whole month flew by and unfortunately this blog fell on my list of priorities. Laundry apparently fell on the list, too. Although if we’re being honest, laundry is always at the bottom of the list. Anyways. Last weekend my friend pointed out that Monday was National Chocolate Day. I think it’s slightly ridiculously that there’s a day for everything. National Cat Day was this week as well…but I hate cats, so I didn’t participate. I don’t mind celebrating chocolate though.

Salted Whiskey Truffles

My brother finds out if he passed the bar this week. Talk about stress. I figured he could use some treats to brighten up his week, so he got to be my taste tester for my chocolate recipe. I had to choose something that would travel. I had seen truffles at a restaurant recently and decided those were perfect. Then I decided to make chocolate whiskey truffles and be the best sister ever.

Salted Whiskey Truffles

I used this recipe since I had never made truffles before. I doubled it so my measurements will reflect that.

Salted Whiskey Truffles

Salted Whiskey Truffles (~20 truffles)

  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 10 oz. bittersweet chocolate
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, room temperature
  • 2 Tbsp. whiskey
  • Bakers chocolate

Chop the chocolate into pieces. Try to chop it finely and evenly as possible. Put it in a bowl and set to the side. Heat the cream until it comes to a boil and pour over the chocolate. Add in the butter and whiskey. Let it stand for a minute or two before stirring. Then stir the mixture with a rubber spatula until the chocolate is completely melted and smooth. Cover the ganache and refrigerate for a couple of hours, until the ganache is set. To make the truffles, scoop out the ganache and place on wax paper. If you have a gadget like a melon baller that will scoop it out perfectly, use that. I had to improvise and made a HUGE mess. The ganache melts rather quickly, so rolling them into balls is extremely difficult. I chose to chill mine again after shaping them. I dipped my truffles in bakers chocolate and sprinkled some sea salt on top to finish them. I love the contrasting rich and sweet flavors!

2 thoughts on “Salted Whiskey Truffles

    1. I kept them in the fridge just because I normally keep cake balls in the fridge. If you dip them in bakers chocolate the shell should act as a seal as long as it doesn’t get too hot!

Leave a Reply

