Cookies N Cream Cake

This past weekend one of my closest friends got married. Let me back that up. Two weeks ago, she and her fiance went to Vegas with their families and they got hitched. This past weekend they threw a reception so the rest of us could help celebrate. Pretty genius idea- you get two weekends to celebrate, two times to wear your wedding dress, two weekends where it’s all about you. But who would want that?!

The couple cutting the ca
The couple cutting the cake

These friends also happen to be some of my loyal taste testers. They even go the extra mile and try other bakeries, then give me feedback and suggestions. I’m pretty lucky. Since their venue took care of all the catering needs for their reception, my services weren’t needed. However, they did still want a small cake to do a traditional cake cutting and that’s where I come into the picture. A couple of weeks ago I asked them what flavor they wanted. They had recently tried a cookies n cream cake somewhere and decided on that. They were pretty specific on consistency and flavor, so I had a good framework to work with. I actually didn’t get a piece of the cake, but everyone said they really enjoyed it. I mean, you can’t really go wrong with Oreos.

The best kind of review
The best kind of review

Cookies N Cream Cake

  • 1 1/3 c. butter
  • 2 1/2 c. sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. buttermilk
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 pkg. double stuf Oreos

Preheat the oven to 325*. Grease and flour two 8″ round pans. Cream together the butter and sugar. Add the eggs one at a time. Add the vanilla. Add the flour and buttermilk, alternating by starting and ending with the flour. Crush 2 of the 3 rows of Oreos in the package, and fold them into the batter. Divide batter between cake pans. Bake for about 40 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean.

Step 1
Step 1
Step 2
Step 2
Step 3
Step 3

Make a batch of buttercream frosting. Crush the remaining Oreos and fold into the frosting. I needed to pipe the frosting, so I only used Oreos in the filling. I also made the frosting a bit too thin the first go round. I knew as I was piping it that it would not hold, but I was hoping prayers would keep it from being a disaster.

Womp womp.
Womp womp.

I scraped off the sides and had to make another batch of frosting. Fortunately, it doesn’t take that long to pipe those roses.

Final product, plus the super cute custom King & Queen Card cake toppers!
Final product, plus the super cute custom King & Queen Card cake toppers!
One thought on “Cookies N Cream Cake

Leave a Reply

