Cookie Dough Cupcakes

I think we all know most people (/girls) have a board on pinterest dedicated solely to food. At least one. So when my friend said “something chocolate” for her birthday cupcakes, that’s exactly where I went. I’ve seen variations of Cookie Dough Cupcakes all over the place so I decided those were going to happen. Ironically the friend who these were for ended up getting her wisdom teeth removed and was unable to join us…so she did not get to enjoy her birthday cupcakes. Sorry Michelle. The rest of us enjoyed them though. I decided to try out the cookie dough frosting, mainly because I had my doubts about it actually tasting like cookie dough. Trust me…I have years of experience tasting cookie dough. But this frosting was fantastic. Sure, it’ll put you into a sugar coma, but isn’t that what we’re looking for in a cupcake? Because the frosting is so sweet, I think a chocolate cupcake is definitely needed to balance it out. I also use coarse sea salt instead of regular table salt, and it definitely added something to these. I made these chocolate cupcakes and added chocolate chips to the batter before baking.

Cookie Dough Cupcakes
Cookie Dough Cupcakes

Cookie Dough Frosting (~24 cupcakes)

  • 6 oz. cream cheese
  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 3/4 c. light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 3 Tbsp. milk (plus more depending on the consistency you want)
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • 4 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 c. mini chocolate chips

Cream together the cream cheese and butter. Add the brown sugar, vanilla, and flour. Add the milk. Gradually add the powdered sugar, adding more milk if necessary. Finally add the chocolate chips.

If you have a pastry tip large enough, you can pipe the frosting without the chocolate chips getting stuck. If not, then you have to frost your cupcakes the old fashioned way!

2 thoughts on “Cookie Dough Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

