Paleo Vanilla Cupcakes

I hardly ever go to the movies and this past week I went twice. Gotta love having the summer off. First I saw Man of Steel, which was pretty good and Superman is rather attractive (plus we went to an early matinee so the theater was basically empty). We also went to The Heat the day it came out. I’m not a fan of crowds, but this movie was so hilarious it didn’t matter. You laugh the entire time. Those are my in depth movie reviews for the week- you’re welcome. I actually invest myself more into So You Think You Can Dance. I’m still waiting for a season to to win me over since I’m still obsessed with season 4 (they’re on season 10.) Last week was a good start though. I clearly find substantial things to fill up my time off. Fortunately baking consumes quite a bit of my time. I’ve had some interest in paleo cupcakes lately, so I thought I’d share the vanilla cupcakes I made earlier this week. I may have had these for dinner the day I baked them. They don’t even need frosting. A while back I found a gluten-free cupcake recipe book at the grocery store and to my surprise most of the recipes were paleo. This recipe came from that book, although I made a few changes. She has some good GF recipes on her blog, so you should check her out.

Paleo Vanilla Cupcakes
Paleo Vanilla Cupcakes

Paleo Vanilla Cupcakes (~7 cupcakes)

  • 1/2 c. + 2 Tbsp. coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/3 c. olive oil
  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350* and line your cupcake tin. In your mixer, combine the coconut flour, salt, and baking soda. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, olive oil, honey, and vanilla. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until combined. Fill the cups 2/3 full and bake for about 18 minutes, until they pass the toothpick test.

They look just like real cupcakes- and taste like it!
They look just like real cupcakes- and taste like it!

I made a frosting with coconut milk, coconut butter, and honey. However I want to tweak that before I post it. Honestly it’s much easier to make a chocolate paleo frosting than vanilla, or you can try pairing these with my paleo salted caramel frosting (that would be my first choice!). These cupcakes are so good you don’t even need the frosting though!

4 thoughts on “Paleo Vanilla Cupcakes

  1. These look amazing! Will have to try this recipe for sure. I would totally go primal and make a cream cheese icing for these bad boys! 😉

    Question: how would you describe the consistency? Are they moist or crumbly?

    1. I wanted to do a primal frosting, but they asked for paleo! They are moist- very much like regular cupcakes. I know a lot of paleo baking doesn’t always hold together well/are crumbly, but that’s not the case with these.

      1. Awesome! Thanks for the reply. I find I have much better luck for moist cupcakes with almond flour. Cakes come out much denser with coconut flour. I’ll give this a try but may sub the olive oil for ghee or coconut oil.

Leave a Reply

