Sangria Cupcakes

There’s some law in the Man Code somewhere that says men cannot order fruity drinks. We all know that everyone enjoys a fruity little drink with an umbrella in it every once in awhile…but apparently it is taboo for a guy to actually order one. Agreed? I’ve witnessed guys tell their girlfriends to order a certain drink so he can still order his manly beer, all the while stealing sips of her “girly” drink. My brother is guilty of this. I promise you he drinks plenty of beer, scotch, and whiskey, but from time to time some fruity cocktail will make it’s way in there. Last year for his birthday he requested cherry limeade cupcakes (alcoholic of course, most everything I bake for him contains alcohol).

Cherry Limeade Cupcakes
Cherry Limeade Cupcakes

This past month he graduated from law school and so I asked him what he wanted me to bake for the occasion. His response…sangria cupcakes. Always has to throw me a challenge. I bake with wine often enough (wine cake is one of my favorites), but I wasn’t quite sure how to incorporate all the flavors of sangria into a cupcake. Fruity, with the spice and deep flavor of red wine. I ended up with a “spice” cake (just a little bit of spice, not a lot!) with hints of orange zest, a spiked strawberry pineapple filling, and red wine buttercream. The flavors balanced each other out the way I anticipated (you never know what will happen!), and the result was a delicious summery cupcake! And then you can drink the leftover wine, can’t let it go to waste!

Sangria Cupcakes
Sangria Cupcakes

Sangria Cupcakes (makes ~12)

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 Tbsp. orange zest

Preheat oven to 350*. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream together the butter and sugar. Add in the eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Add the vanilla. Alternately add the flour mixture and milk, starting and ending with the flour. Fold in the orange zest. Fill baking cups 2/3 full and bake for about 22 minutes, or until they pass the toothpick test.

Start of the filling
Start of the filling

Spiked Strawberry Pineapple Filling

  • 2 cups strawberries (diced)
  • 1/2 cup pineapple (diced)
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. butter
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. red wine

Pour strawberries and pineapple into a deep pot and bring to a boil over medium heat. Once the strawberries are boiling, add the sugar and stir until it is dissolved. Stir constantly so the sugar doesn’t burn. Bring to a boil and then add the butter. (The addition of butter keeps the foam volume down.) Turn the heat down to medium-low and boil the jam for about 30 minutes, until thickened to jam like consistency. Stir in the wine.

Midway through the filling...jam takes patience my friends.
Midway through the filling…jam takes patience my friends.

Red Wine Buttercream

I made regular butter cream, but added red wine as my liquid. You have to be careful…too much does not taste good! I also used a few teaspoons of the filling in the frosting as well. It’s a balancing game. But wine cupcakes are worth it!

2 thoughts on “Sangria Cupcakes

  1. I’m wondering what you do with the jam after you’ve cooked it. Do you let it cool? I made it before I’m ready to assemble the cupcakes, so I’m wondering if I should leave it out or put it in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

