Paleo Almond Butter Blondies

A lot of people ask me how I don’t eat everything I bake. And they seem surprised when I say I don’t want to weigh 400 pounds. It’s actually surprisingly easy to avoid tasting because I am constantly surrounded by it. However…paleo baking is much harder to resist. There’s a little voice that keeps saying, “It’s okay, it’s paleo!”. Which yes, it is better than the alternative…but eating a whole pan of something is never good no matter what it is!! It was definitely a test of self-control with these blondies because they didn’t even taste paleo. I promise. I’ve had some paleo treats that taste exactly that…paleo. These will make you feel guilty. I made them for my Grandmother for Mother’s Day. She’s diabetic and I’ve been trying to get her to try paleo for awhile…no dice. I wanted to bake her something so I decided to sneak in a paleo treat. I may have neglected to tell her they were paleo (Sorry GM!). But really…these are so good you could fool anyone.

Paleo Almond Butter Bars
Paleo Almond Butter Blondies

Paleo Almond Butter Blondies

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 2/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. coarse salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (I use Enjoy Life chips. If you think this is pushing the paleo envelope…just leave it out!)

Preheat the oven to 350* and grease an 8X8 pan. Mix the coconut oil, honey, almond butter, eggs, and vanilla together. Add the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Fold in the chocolate chips. Pour batter into pan and bake for about 22 minutes.

They work as cupcakes too!
They work as cupcakes too!

*I did test a few in a cupcake pan and they made cute little mini cupcakes. Bake for about 12-13 minutes if you want mini cupcakes.

I added chocolate ganache on top. I did use heavy cream to make this, so it’s not ENTIRELY paleo…but it’s still gluten free and sugar free (just cream and dark chocolate). You could make my paleo salted caramel frosting if you want a more paleo frosting option. Depends on how much of a cheat you want!

Paleo Almond Butter Cupcakes dipped in  ganache
Paleo Almond Butter Cupcakes dipped in ganache
7 thoughts on “Paleo Almond Butter Blondies

  1. Just made these, and followed the recipe exactly. Unfortunately they were still wuite raw after baking for 22 minutes…and still raw 3 minutes later. I am thinking that perhaps they should have been made in a 9×13 pan instead of 8×8? I then baked for another 15 minutes, which verged on burning the top, but the inside finally was baked through. The flavor was still quite good. I would try this again, but just with that one adjustment.

    1. I make these often because they are a family favorite and always use 8×8. Sometimes I double it and then I will use 9×13. I’m sorry they didn’t turn out for you! I let these sit out for about 30 minutes after I take them out of the oven (as I do with all blondies- paleo or not). If you cut into them right after taking them out, they will be too soft.

Leave a Reply

