Horchata Cupcakes

Cinco de Mayo is a fun little non-American holiday that Americans love to celebrate. But who doesn’t love an excuse for excessive margaritas and guacamole? Or watching someone try to knock down a pinata after a few too many drinks? Or a dog in a little sombrero? We had a good time with it.

cinco de mayoziggy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Naturally every holiday deserves a cupcake. I’ve made margarita cupcakes before, so I needed something different. My friend Janet suggested horchata cupcakes. I had never even heard of horchata so I was a little hesitant. But I did some research and it seemed like it would work. I think they sell horchata at the store, but I made my own for this since I didn’t need much. It’s incredibly easy. And delicious- like candy in drink form. Which obviously makes for an amazing cupcake. This is one of the main reasons I keep Janet around- she has pretty innovative baking ideas. We get a lot done at work. Horchata is easy to make but you do need to start the day before you plan to make cupcakes because it needs to soak overnight. Fortunately the prep work is less than 5 minutes!

Horchata Recipe (*This makes enough for the cupcakes and frosting)

  • 1/2 cup uncooked rice
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. almond extract
  • 1/2 Tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup sugar

Mix all ingredients in a pitcher (or some type of container…I used a large water bottle I had). Let it soak overnight. Blend the mixture to break up the rice (it won’t blend all the way). Strain the mixture and throw away the rice. Your horchata is ready!

Yes that's my redneck wineglass. I had limited options in glassware, okay?
Yes that’s my redneck wineglass. I had limited options in glassware, okay?

Horchata Cupcakes (~12 cupcakes)

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups  flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup fresh Horchata
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white

Preheat oven to 350*. Cream together the butter and sugar. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Add the egg and egg white to the butter mixture.  Alternately add the flour mixture and horchata to butter mixture, beginning and ending with the flour. Mix until combined. Fill cupcake tins 2/3 full and bake for 22 minutes, or until they pass the toothpick test.

Horchata Frosting

  • 1/2 cup horchata
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • dash of salt

Cream together the butter and shortening. Add in the salt. Slowly add the horchata. You can choose to add it gradually as you add the powdered sugar. Add the powdered sugar one cup at a time, allowing each cup to be mixed in before adding the next. After you frost the cupcakes, sprinkle some cinnamon on top. Ole!

Horchata Cupcakes
Horchata Cupcakes
3 thoughts on “Horchata Cupcakes

    1. I made these. Cupcake came out so good! but the frosting did not look like the picture.. it wasnt fluffy was just liquidity. Any suggestions what I did wrong?

Leave a Reply

