7 Up Pound Cake

You know what’s AWESOME?! When you have about 10 dozen mini cupcakes to make and your mixer attachment breaks 3 minutes in. I hadn’t even finished creaming the butter and sugar together when I heard this clanging noise. It took me a second to locate the

problem. When I found it, I quickly realized there was nothing I could do and turned the mixer back on. I mean come on, there were still cupcakes to be made.

Houston, we have a problem.
Houston, we have a problem.

Everyone has those recipes that are passed through generations. My mom and grandmother ALWAYS talked about this 7 Up cake that my great-grandmother made, but I think I went most of my childhood without ever having it. I finally managed to obtain the recipe from my mom or grandmother (can’t remember which), and decided to try it myself. Old fashioned cakes always seem to be the best. Super moist, simple, and yet SO good. This one has a slight lemon flavor due to the 7 Up and lemon juice should you add it, but not enough to qualify it as a lemon cake. And bonus- this cake is super easy to whip up.

7 Up Pound Cake
7 Up Pound Cake

My parents were having a fish fry and so I was asked to make this cake. Of course I did, in exchange for fish and onion rings. I was also excited to try out the new Bundt pan I received for Christmas. It’s so neat looking, but it is a pain in the ass to grease and wash. I did get compliments on the shape of the cake though, so it was worth it.

So many ridges
So many ridges

7 Up Pound Cake

  • 2 sticks butter (mmm butter)
  • 1/2 cup Crisco
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 3 cup flour
  • 6.5 ounces 7 Up (~3/4 cup)
  • 1 tsp lemon juice (or vanilla)

Preheat the oven to 325*. Grease and flour your Bundt pan. Mix butter and crisco, cream until well blended. Add the rest of the ingredients, mixing until well combined. Pour batter into pan. Bake for 1 hour or until it passes the knife test.

I had a little too much batter for my pan- so I made a few cupcakes with the extra. This cake can easily be adapted to cupcakes if that’s what you need.

7 Up Pound Cake Cupcakes
7 Up Pound Cake Cupcakes

Lemon Glaze

Most pound cakes just require a glaze instead of frosting, so I made a lemon glaze to top this one.

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice

Mix and pour over cake!

Mmm mmm good.
Mmm mmm good.
One thought on “7 Up Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

