Nutella Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

You know how some weeks just drag by? And some are a crazy whirlwind of activities? This past week was definitely a whirlwind week for me. I saw Elton John in concert and got to cross that off my bucket list (seeing him and Celine Dion are both on my list). That man is so talented- not many people could walk in with no opener, sit down, and play for 3 hours. AMAZING.

My gift is my song, and this one's for you.
My gift is my song, and this one’s for you.

The rest of the weekend was filled with birthday festivities. My birthday was Saturday and so obviously I had the entire weekend to celebrate. The funny thing about being a baker is that everyone wants you to make your own birthday cake. “Oh, I could make one. But it won’t be as good.” or “I could bake a cake from a box”. So instead of actually baking a cake I just decided to add a few extra cupcakes to another batch I was doing. A few weeks ago a friend posted a picture of a sandwich that had nutella, peanut butter, and bacon on it. Intrigued? I was. It was called the “Dead Elvis” sandwich, although I had always heard that an Elvis sandwich was banana, pb, and bacon. But I like love nutella so I was okay with the substitution. Anyways, my friend said “I think there’s a cupcake in there” and I agreed. Enter this week’s baking experiment.

This cupcake requires an open mind. I know some people are iffy when it comes to bacon and dessert, but they’re dumb. Bacon is awesome with dessert if you do it right. I made a nutella cupcake by just adding a few teaspoons of nutella to the batter of my chocolate cupcakes. I didn’t add the nutella until I had already poured the batter into the pans.

I was so tempted to eat these before I finished the frosting.
I was so tempted to eat these before I finished the frosting.

Then I made a peanut butter frosting. Disclaimer: I love peanut butter. Nutella cupcake, frosted with peanut butter icing, topped with….BACON. I dipped part of the bacon in chocolate just because it seemed like a good idea. So there’s a whole lot going on with this cupcake- but it is SO good. Sweet and salty. Happy birthday to me. If bacon cupcakes interest you, then you should check out my maple bacon cupcakes or my paleo bacon pecan brittle. Delicious.

Nutella Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcake
Nutella Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcake
Leave a Reply

