Aggie Basketball Cupcakes

FAIL is a four letter word I deal with almost on a daily basis. Being a teacher the word comes up more often than not. At the gym we usually lift until we fail- not necessarily a bad thing, but you don’t know how much you can lift until you can’t lift anymore right? But fail is not a word that follows me into the kitchen. I’m not saying this because I think I am invincible, but there is hardly an experiment or recipe that completely fails leaving me with nothing but tears in the kitchen. Okay, slight exaggeration. But even if it looks ugly or didn’t turn out how it was supposed to, it’s still usually edible on some level or I can salvage it to end up with some sort of final product. Well I met my match with poured fondant. I was doing a test run of petit fours and thought it would be a quick run through- WRONG!

Yeah. Not exactly pour-able.
Yeah. Not exactly pour-able. Attempt #1.

I had to do 3 batches before I even made a working batch. Needless to say, my esteem was knocked down a few notches. I’m still working on the final recipe for this so I will post that at another time. Sometimes things don’t work out the way we want them to…it just means you gotta roll your sleeves up and try again!

First successful batch- Attempt #3.
First successful batch- Attempt #3.

I did find success with these Aggie Basketball cupcakes for a 9 year old’s birthday. I went old school and starred the basketballs. I think my mom starred every one of my birthday cakes growing up (she’s pretty good at it). Simple in design, but sometimes that’s all you need. These were gluten-free chocolate cupcakes with buttercream frosting.

Aggie Basketball Cupcakes
Aggie Basketball Cupcakes

Aggie Basketball Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

