Minnie Mouse Cupcakes

This Harlem Shake video trend needs to stop. Have this generation really become so lazy that the most current “dance craze” doesn’t have any dancing or actual steps at all? I just don’t get it. I’m not a fan of the “Boot Scootin Boogie”, but at least there’s a series of steps you have to learn.

Some friends and I were hanging out at a brewery this past Saturday and we saw some individuals in weird outfits. Some of these individuals were kids. We were confused, but didn’t think too much of it because hey, people are weird. I was waiting in line for the restroom when the lady in front of me informed me that the brewery was making a Harlem Shake video. Is no place safe anymore?! Sure enough, a guy with a video camera was testing out the area, and the number of costumes had increased. I saw some fish, a spandex bodysuit made to look like muscles, sequin underwear, the Mad Hatter…all sorts of things. Not sure how the final video turned out, we relocated to another room to finish our beer.

Okay...let's get to what this post is really about. Delicious cupcakes.
Okay…let’s get to what this post is really about. Delicious cupcakes.

The easy way to be the favorite in a group is to be the one who brings cupcakes. I brought extra strawberry cupcakes to the brewery. It’s almost the equivalent of bringing a cute dog…but less responsibility. I had made strawberry Minnie Mouse cupcakes for a sweet girl’s 2 year birthday party. I decided to do gumpaste for the decoration, but kept it pretty simple. I made pink bows and then used chocolate candy melts as the ears. I also cut out circles and “2”s and “T”s to place on the circles.

All the pre-made decorations
All the pre-made decorations

The best part about doing gumpaste decorations is that you make them ahead of time, so when you’re actually baking the cupcakes decorating goes pretty fast. To make the bows I just cut the gumpaste into short strips, looped it into a circle, then pinched the center. Then I took a small piece of gumpaste and looped it around the center, and ta-da! You have a bow. I used cookie cutters for the rest. I loved how these turned out. Just looking at the picture makes me want to eat them.

Minnie Mouse

Strawberry cupcakes, buttercream frosting
Strawberry cupcakes, buttercream frosting
2 thoughts on “Minnie Mouse Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

