Football Cake

I know I didn’t post anything last week. Which is ironic because I’ve actually been baking more. Between teaching/baking/packing (I’m moving next weekend), time got away from me. My bad.

So my students are a constant source of entertainment for me. Sometimes they just completely baffle me. This is an actual conversation I had earlier this week…

  • Student: Miss, are you married?
  • Me: No.
  • Student: Oh. So are you not married yet, or are you a free spirit?
  • Me:…..blank look.
  • Student: Well no offense maam, but I have no idea how old you are. You have the complexion of a teenager and the body of a 35 year old.

I’d love to hear how you would have responded to that- I have yet to figure out a good response!

I had a lot of baking going on this week. I modified the raspberry cheesecake cupcakes and replaced the raspberry sauce with a piece of chocolate (it probably tastes amazing with both the sauce AND the chocolate!).

IMG_3037

One of my projects this week was a football themed cake for a 1st birthday. They wanted a marble cake and I honestly had never made one. Round 1 did not go so well. Due to lack of time, I found a Martha Stewart recipe and decided to go with it. It tasted fine, but it didn’t rise at all! Martha finally did me wrong. We’re not on good terms right now. Round 2 went much better. I didn’t even want to frost it because I thought the swirls were so pretty.

Pretty marble!
Pretty marble!

I made the actual cake a football field. I glued together extra cake pop sticks to make goal posts. This was a last second idea, but I’m so glad I added it.

Field goal!
Field goal!

For the smash cake I made a tiny football. A smash cake is for the birthday kid to dig into with their hands- that way no one else has to eat cake contaminated by a 1 year old. I made the stitching on the smash cake into a 1.

Smash Cake
Smash Cake

Football Cake

2 thoughts on “Football Cake

Leave a Reply

