Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes

I guess now that we successfully avoided the end of the world (again), we can focus on cramming as much football and holiday spirit into the next few days as we can. Does anyone remember this video? It went viral when I was in high school. Like if you hadn’t seen it…you probably were confused a lot due to how much it was quoted.

I got pretty le tired of people saying “But I’m le tired”.

But back to this holiday stuff. Unfortunately I didn’t take many holiday orders because I wanted to maintain my sanity (I’m baking for a wedding on the 26th). The way Christmas and the school calendar fell, our last day of school wasn’t until the 21st. So while normally I would be baking the week up to Christmas, instead I was administering final exams to the young minds of our future. I also got in some sudoku practice.

What I spent all day yesterday doing. Stay tuned for that project next week.
What I spent all day yesterday doing. Stay tuned for that project next week.

There are two flavors that come to mind when you think of Christmas: 1. Peppermint 2. Cinnamon (Not together…gross). I went with peppermint…and then mocha because I had a persistent taste tester pushing it. Because I LOVE my chocolate cupcake recipe so much (And part because I was being a tad lazy)…I used it again here. But in that step where you mix the cocoa and the hot water, add a tablespoon of expresso.

Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes
Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes

I also decided to add one of those Candy Cane Hershey Kiss in each cupcake before baking. But you don’t have to. I frosted them peppermint buttercream icing, drizzled some white chocolate on top, and then sprinkled on some crushed candy cane to finish it off. If you like peppermint, then you will love these!

Leave a Reply

