Paleo Chewy Bacon Pecan Brittle

You remember last week when I said I’d be back with butter and sugar this week? I lied. Our gym had its Christmas party this weekend and it was a paleo potluck. It’s actually kind of nice to go to a holiday party and not have to worry about eating too many cookies. Honestly I think having paleo food makes us feel better about all the non-paleo beverages. I am perfectly okay with that logic. I was pretty close to ignoring the paleo memo and making my favorite cookies anyways until I saw Juli at PaleOMG tweet this recipe. If you’re into all of the paleo stuff, you should totally check out her blog. She’s hilarious and has some awesome recipes.

I knew I would be short on time (as always) and the pecan brittle looked quick and easy. And I love pecan pralines so I was really praying that this would be a good paleo fix. I decided to take her recipe one step further though. I had recently seen a bacon chocolate chip cookies recipe and LIGHT BULB! What if I added candied bacon to the pecan brittle? It sounded good in my head so I decided to go for it. Love that salty and sweet. The brittle was a hit at the Christmas party, apparently I should have doubled the batch. If you’re looking to make new friends, this is a good way to do it.

It's like bacon sprinkles!
It’s like bacon sprinkles!

Paleo Chewy Bacon Pecan Brittle

  • 1 c. pecans, halved or pieces
  • ½ c. honey
  • ½ c. maple syrup
  • ½ c. coconut oil, melted
  • ½ c. coconut butter
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 5 pieces of candied bacon, broken into pieces*
  • pinch of sea salt
Seriously good for a dessert that's usually made with just butter and sugar!
Seriously good for a dessert that’s usually made with just butter and sugar!

Line a baking dish with parchment paper  (I used a 9×13, but it didn’t completely fill out the pan). Place a medium saucepan over medium heat. Toast the pecans in one tablespoon of the coconut oil, stirring so the pecans don’t burn. When your pecans start to brown, add the honey and maple syrup. Keep stirring.
When the mixture thickens a bit, add the rest of the coconut oil and coconut butter. Keep stirring so it doesn’t burn. Then add your cinnamon, vanilla extract, and a pinch of salt.
When everything is well combined, turn burner on low and let simmer for about 3-4 minutes to thicken just a bit. Then pour the mixture into the baking dish and use your spatula to spread out the pecans. Sprinkle the bacon “sprinkles” on top. You can also sprinkle some sea salt on there too. Place in the freezer and let freeze for an hour or more, and then break it into pieces!

*To make candied bacon: Toss and coat strips of bacon in maple syrup. Lay on a baking sheet covered with parchment and bake for about 20 minutes at 350*.

2 thoughts on “Paleo Chewy Bacon Pecan Brittle

Leave a Reply

