Buttermilk Pie

By now I hope you have recovered from your Thanksgiving food coma. Although some of you may still be coasting on leftovers. You know what you never have left over? Desserts. I can’t remember when the responsibility of holiday desserts fell to me, but I was young. After a few years of helping my Grandma with her buttermilk pie, I was left in charge of the pie and the bread. Ironic, since I don’t eat grains/dairy/sugar on a normal basis. But I digress.

Recipe Book
First recipe I wrote into my recipe book. I think I was 14 or 15. Don’t worry- I didn’t cover the outside with wine labels until I was after 21…

Buttermilk pie is THE dessert our family will always have at a holiday meal. You know how people are with traditions around the holidays. I’ve tried to knock a few and I get knocked down instead. I’m still fighting green bean casserole. Holidays are always the time I like to experiment with desserts, mainly because I can bake it and feed it to everyone else. Which means I don’t get stuck eating all it. However when I was trying to figure out what to bake for this Thanksgiving, I presented some options to my family (buttermilk pie not being one of them) and got blank stares in return. “And buttermilk pie, right? I mean, of course you’re making that.” So yes, of course we had buttermilk pie. Oh buttermilk. How us southerners love you. If you’re wondering what do you even use buttermilk for, then you have not truly experienced southern home cooking.

Buttermilk Pie
Behold…it’s buttermilk pie.

This recipe was my Grandma’s. Where she got it- I haven’t got the faintest idea. Every time I come across a buttermilk pie recipe online, I check out the ingredients to see if it’s like mine. I have yet to find a single recipe that is the same (way to go Grandma!).

Buttermilk Pie

  • unbaked pie shell (you can make your own or take the easy way out)
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 3 Tbsp. flour, rounded (meaning each Tbsp. will be a little more than an actual Tbsp.)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 c. buttermilk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Preheat your oven to 350*. Do what you want to do with your pie shell, just have it ready in your pie dish. This year I got all “fancy” and decided to braid some extra pie crust to rim the pie. Because of the consistency of buttermilk pie batter, you can’t lay pastry dough on top and make super cool designs. Waa.

Pastry braid
Oh fancy. (Yeah, I did use pre-made pie shells. What of it. I ain’t got time for that.)

Beat sugar and melted butter together. In a separate bowl, beat the 3 eggs. Add the flour to the eggs and beat until it forms a cream. Add the flour and the eggs to the sugar mixture and mix to combine. Beat in the buttermilk and vanilla. Pour into the pie shell and sprinkle with nutmeg. Bake for 40-50 minutes, or until the center is set.

Buttermilk Pie
“I’m just carryin’
on an old family tradition” – Hank Jr.
One thought on “Buttermilk Pie

Leave a Reply

