Gooey Butter Cake Bars

I’m not quite sure where October went. But I’m pretty sure November and December will be following at an alarmingly quick rate. My calendar is already booked pretty solid and that’s without including the holiday baking orders. It’s a good thing I LOVE this time of year. I mean I’m not one of those obnoxious holiday spirit people, I just love everything about the holidays. As soon as Halloween was over I busted out my Nutcracker soundtrack. Before you shake your head and judge me, I am keeping the rest of my holiday music locked up until the end of November. The Nutcracker is like my gateway holiday music.

Nutcracker
Nutcracker. Giant rats and ballet. Tchaikovsky. Awesome.

This past weekend I had a crossfit competition, the next weekend I’m going to Disneyworld to run a half marathon (and play), and then following weekend I’m baking a groom’s cake for a wedding. And I’m teaching those students of mine somewhere in there. Thanksgiving is the light at the end of the tunnel….and I am a train traveling at record breaking speed. So with all of this going on, I had promised two of my friends I would bake them something for their birthday this past weekend. I had to find something I could do quick- I literally had one hour to whip up something. I got home at 4:30 and had to turn around to leave at 6:00 (Yeah- I am SUCH a good friend that the reasonable decision of not baking something didn’t even cross my mind). I had been meaning to make butter cake for quite some time, and it looked like a quick and easy recipe, so I decided to give it a go. GREAT LIFE CHOICE!  I know we give Paula Deen a hard time, but Lord have mercy this cake is good. And it only takes an hour start to finish to bake. Jackpot.

Gooey Butter Cake Bars
Gooey Butter Cake Bars. AKA Sugar Coma Bars.

Gooey Butter Cake Bars

  • Yellow cake mix (*NOTE: I don’t use cake mix to bake cakes…like ever. I do use them in other ways though, like for bars like these or cake mix cookies)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 stick butter, melted (oh yeah)
  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 4 c. powdered sugar

Preheat to 300*. Grease a 9×13″ baking pan. Mix together the cake mix, 1 egg, and the melted butter to form a dough. Press the dough evenly across the bottom of the pan. Mix the powdered sugar, 2 eggs, and the cream cheese together until smooth and cream (I mixed for a minute or so).  Pour on top of the crust, and bake for 45-50 minutes. The top should be golden brown and the center of the cake should be set.

Gooey Butter Cake Bars
Forewarning- it’s hard to stop at one.

With all those holiday parties coming up, these are great to serve or bring as your contribution. Everyone will love you and want to be your best friend. Easy to fit in a busy schedule and they taste amazing!

2 thoughts on “Gooey Butter Cake Bars

Leave a Reply

