Lemon Raspberry Gobs

You know what I love about October? That you start hearing “Thriller” everywhere. I personally listen to it all year round, so I encourage this. Something about the song just makes you want to dance. Can’t dance? That’s okay. People will just think it’s your zombie impression. I honestly don’t understand how people DON’T like that song. Do you not like having fun? Are you just against the song and video that were a significant part of pop culture evolution? This got me going on a list of other things I don’t understand.

Thriller
You know you’re singing the song now. You’re welcome.

THINGS I DO NOT UNDERSTAND:

  1. Why everyone is so obsessed with iphones. I’ve had mine for 2 months, and I’m still not sold.
  2. How socks with sandals are cool now, but I’m still judged for wearing a fanny pack.
  3. Why a student at my school has spiked hair with frosted tips. This is not 1998, and you are not in Nsync.
  4. Why I signed up to run another full marathon.
  5. People that don’t like caramel.

I got stuck after 5. Rather…I got distracted because I was still listening to Michael Jackson. Anyways, this week I tried a new gob flavor. Remember those? Heavenly cake sandwiches filled with frosting? I know fall is technically here, but this is Texas and our fall is about as long as the week of Thanksgiving. These are a lighter, more summery flavor and that’s okay, because it’s still 90+ degrees here. Forget about seasons…I bake what I want. Lemon seems to be one of those flavors that has a very loyal fan base. So these are for you lemon-lovers.

Lemon Raspberry Gobs
I love how the raspberries turn the frosting naturally pink!

Lemon Raspberry Gobs (~12 gobs)

The Lemon Cake recipe is from Martha Stewart…thanks Martha.

  • 1/2 c. butter, room temp
  • 1 c. plus 3 Tbsp. light brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon zest
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 1/4 c. flour
  • 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. coarse salt
  • 1 c. whole milk (I used skim, worked just fine)

Preheat to 350*. Cream together the butter, brown sugar, and lemon zest. Add in the egg and vanilla. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Alternately add the flour mixture and milk to the sugar mixture, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Drop 2 Tbsp. sized mounds of batter onto parchment lined baking sheets. I just used a large cookie dough scoop- every pie is the same size and it’s quick and easy. Bake for about 18 minutes and then let cool.

Raspberry Filling

I made buttercream frosting, but before I added milk to thin it out I added 2-3 Tbsp. of pureed raspberry. You want this frosting to have a thick consistency because it needs to hold its form when sandwiched together.

Let the cakes cool completely before frosting!

Leave a Reply

