White Russian Cupcakes

I have a rather eclectic collection of alcohol due to baking. Like I pretty much have a fully stocked bar to make a bunch of cocktails that I never drink. Well at least I thought I was fully stocked- turns out I was missing Kahlua. Which isn’t surprising given my dislike for coffee. So I traveled to the nearest liquor store to get some Kahlua and stood there for a minute or two before I was asked if I needed help. I know they were only asking because they probably thought I was a minor, but since I actually needed help I had them direct me to where I could find Kahlua (only a couple of aisles over). Now what could I be baking that requires Kahlua?! Oh wait. You read the title of this post. Yes- I am indeed baking White Russian cupcakes. A white russian is a cocktail combining vodka and Kahlua. Luckily I already had some vodka that my dad had bought.

Vodka
Ivanobitch. Vodka with attitude. I’m not making this up- it says that on the bottle.

My sister loves white russians- I’m not sure if someone told her drinking them made you look cool or something, but I’ve never been inclined to order one. If you’ve ever seen “The Big Lebowski” you know that the Dude prefers to drink white russians as well. Can’t argue with the Dude.

 

White Russian Cupcakes (~12 cupcakes)

from Baked Perfection

  • 1 1/4 c. flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 6 Tbsp. butter, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1/8 c. Vodka
  • 1/4 c. Kahlua, divided

Preheat oven to 350* and line your cupcake pan. In a bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. In your mixer, cream the butter and sugar together. Add the egg and egg white one at a time. Then add the vanilla, vodka, and 1/8 cup of the Kahlua. Add the flour mixture in three additions, alternating with the milk (begin and start with the flour mixture).

White Russian Cupcakes
I don’t even like Kahlua, but these smelled AMAZING after being brushed with Kahlua.

Divide batter between cups and bake for ~2o minutes, or until it passes the toothpick test. After you take the cupcakes out of the over and they are still warm, brush each cupcake with the remaing 1/8 cup of Kahlua. Remove from pan and let the cupcakes cool on a wire rack.

Kahlua Buttercream Frosting

I made my regular buttercream, but added 3-4 Tbsp of Kahlua instead of water. If you want the frosting to reach a thinner consistency, start adding water instead of Kahlua. Too much Kahlua will make the flavor way too strong! And by flavor…I mean taste of alcohol.
White Russian Cupcakes
Cocktail Cupcakes- always a good idea.

 

One thought on “White Russian Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

