Texas Sheet Cake Cupcakes

Grandma and I
That’s my Grandma and I on the left. Yes, I was camping before I even had hair.

When I was younger, my Grandma would write me letters pretty often. I’m talking a couple of pages about whatever was going on in her neck of the woods, and always asking me questions about what was going on. Every kid loves getting mail, but at the time I don’t think I fully appreciated the time spent on these letters. When she wrote she wrote to ME, not my brother or sister, not to my parents, but to me (don’t worry they got their own letters). One letter in particular contained recipes for the “12 cakes most commonly baked for birthday cakes”. She must have seen my future in the kitchen better than anyone else. These recipes are on the backside of her 80th birthday invitations- she’s not one to waste! One of the cakes happened to be Texas sheet cake, which she wrote out to the side- “I call it Texas joy cake”. Which pretty much sums my Grandma up- always joyful and grateful. So I will call it Texas joy cake as well. But for the rest of you I titled it Texas sheet cake since that’s what it’s commonly referred as.

Grandma and I
Only brown-eyed girls in the family

I had to make cupcakes for a bridal shower and they requested Italian Cream cake and chocolate. The shower had an Italian theme. Being the clever person I am, I decided to make Texas sheet cake cupcakes to go with the Italian Cream cake (get it?!). Yes I know, Texas sheet cake is for SHEET cakes, but I believe everything can be turned into a cupcake. Like I said before, my Grandma mailed me this recipe. Before you could google any recipe you want. So I apologize if it’s the same as one you have, but I don’t know where she got it from!

Texas Joy Cake

  • 2 c. flour
  • 2 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. margarine
  • 1/2 c. shortening
  • 4 Tbsp. cocoa
  • 1 c. water
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c. buttermilk
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Preheat the oven to 400*. Mix together sugar and flour and set aside. Put margarine, shortening, cocoa, and water in a saucepan and bring to boil. Remove from heat, mix in flour and sugar mixture. Add eggs, buttermilk, cinnamon, soda and vanilla; mix well and divide batter between cups. Bake for about 20 minutes.

I used a chocolate fudge frosting on these. You can find the recipe for that frosting over at the Better Than Sex cupcakes.

Texas Joy Cupcakes
Texas Joy Cupcakes
Leave a Reply

