Fig Spice Cupcakes

Fig Newtons and figgy pudding are what come to mind when I think of figs. And I’m not even sure what figgy pudding is. But one of my dad’s coworkers has a fig tree, so I ended up with some fresh figs. I had never tasted a fig before, but we were having bad rainy weather so I was left to experimenting in the kitchen. I did a little google search to get some fig cupcake ideas and came across a recipe at Love And Olive Oil. I’ve used some recipes from there before, so I figured it was probably a good one. I have a bad habit of not really reading through recipes (especially the steps- I usually just glance at the ingredients), so I was already well into making these when I noticed they didn’t call for eggs. I had to check a couple of times to make sure I had written it down right. I mean, I’m one of those who thinks the more butter and eggs it has, the better it will be. Well these cupcakes don’t have butter or eggs in them. I’m sure Paula Deen can’t even fathom the possibility of baking without butter or eggs. Regardless, I charged on and just prayed that these would turn out to be delicious moist cupcakes anyways. And oh. my. word. They were amazing. I know I say that about a lot of my cupcakes, but these really were amazing. I am a little biased towards spice cakes- I will pick any type of spice cake over other flavors, but these were so moist and melt in your mouth delicious.

Fig Spice Cupcakes
Fig Spice Cupcakes. Nom nom nom.

Fig Spice Cupcakes (~12 cupcakes)

  • 1 1/8 c. flour
  • 1/4 c. almond flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 c. coconut milk
  • 3/4 c.sugar
  • 1/3 c. vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. almond extract
  • 1/2 c. finely diced fresh figs (~2 whole figs), or 1/3 cup chopped dried figs

Preheat to 350*. Whisk together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt. In a seperate bowl, mix together the milk, sugar, oil, and extracts. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until combined. Fold in the dates. Divide batter between cups and bake for ~22 minutes.

Figs
Someone told there are monkeys in the jungle that live on figs alone. This has yet to be verified by a google search.

Honey Cinnamon Frosting

If you want the recipe that Love and Olive Oil used, go for it. I almost posted it and then realized that I didn’t follow it. I did use honey and cinnamon in it, like they did. I also added some cream cheese- not enough to qualify it as cream cheese frosting but enough to add a little bit of balance to all the sweetness. After I piped the cupcakes, I added a little slice of fig and sprinkled some cinnamon on top.

Fig Spice Cupcakes
Fig Spice Cupcakes, Honey Cinnamon Frosting

You can use these to bribe people, or make new friends if you’re in the market. Because everyone will want to be your friend after they try these. They should change that Christmas carol to “bring us some figgy cupcakes” because I’m sure this blows figgy pudding out of the water. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

