Strawberry Shortcake Cake

The character. Not an actual strawberry shortcake (which is delicious). I was honestly surprised Strawberry Shortcake was still around since I had been a fan of her when I was little. When looking for anything to decorate the cake with, I quickly figured out that she may not be as popular nowadays. But she is cute, and I was excited to do a Strawberry Shortcake themed cake.

Strawberry Shortcake
Old version on the left, updated on the right. Interesting, huh.

 

The birthday girl, who was turning the exciting age of 5, told me that she wanted chocolate. Actually she listed a couple of flavors, but we narrowed it down to chocolate. Kids get really excited when they start talking about cake.

Strawberry Shortcake Cake
Mmmmm two layers of chocolate cake with lots of buttercream frosting.

I had made little gumpaste flowers to decorate the side of the cake. This ended up being a huge timesaver, it was so much easier to place those on the cakes instead of piping all those flowers. I did manage to find some Strawberry Shortcake candles that I used since I knew there was no chance of my drawing her. Apparently Shortcake has some friends that take after other fruits- I don’t remember them, but they had their own candles too!

Strawberry Shortcake Cake
Final product

I left a space on top of the cake so she would have somewhere to put her five candles to blow out. She already has next year’s cake planned out- Justin Bieber. I told her mom she might have to have someone else make that one!!

Leave a Reply

