Paleo Blueberry Upside Down Cake

Life has finally slowed down enough that I have some extra time to play around with new recipes (the phrase “slowed down” is used loosely). When we decided to have a girls night this past week, I quickly volunteered to bring dessert- although I’m pretty sure they just expect me to bring it anyways. This group of friends eats mostly paleo so I figured this would be the perfect time to experiment with some paleo recipes. I managed to come across a recipe for blueberry upside down cake and I was sold! Blueberry Upside Cake

In my experience with paleo baking, it usually always tastes good but it may not look that pretty. It’s hard to achieve the same structure/density that you get when you use flour, sugar, and butter (you know…all the good stuff). But this cake held it’s shape very well. I honestly expected it to crumble into a delicious “pie-like” blob of blueberries and cake when we cut into it, but it did not! So overall this cake was a hit. As in we managed to basically finish it off by the end of the night.

I used an 8″ round pan to bake this, but I had extra batter so I did a little bit more experimenting by making mini upside down cupcakes. It was successful and I did end up with little blueberry cake bites, but I also managed to nearly burn down the kitchen. Oops. So if you choose to make cupcakes with it I would either use a regular muffin pan instead of mini, or place a cookie sheet on the rack under the muffin pan. That way when your blueberries start overflowing the pan it lands on the cookie sheet instead of the bottom of the oven. Just a suggestion! You could also just use a 9″ pan instead and not worry about extra batter.

Mini Blueberry Upside Cake
Even though I had to take these out early due to…issues, they still turned out good!

Blueberry Upside Down Cake

  • 1/4 c. coconut oil, melted
  • 2 Tbsp. pure maple syrup
  • 2 c. blueberries
  • 2 c. almond flour
  • 1 c. coconut milk
  • 1/2 c. coconut flour
  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt

Mix the coconut oil and maple syrup together, and then pour into the cake pan. Spread the blueberries in the cake pan, making sure the entire pan is covered with a layer of blueberries. If it takes more than 2 cups…use more than 2 cups. If it takes less, use less. Preheat the oven to 375* and while the it is preheating, place the cake pan (with blueberries…because you have already done that step!) in the over for about 5 minutes.

While you have the blueberries hanging out in the oven, mix the rest of the ingredients together. And because this is paleo, there is no rhyme or reason to how you mix them. No chance of over mixing, yada yada. And that is why we love paleo baking- you can just throw everything into the bowl and mix it in 5 minutes.

Take the cake pan out of the oven and pour the rest of the batter on top. Like I mentioned earlier, I decided to not pour all of my batter in because I was afraid of it overflowing. Jokes on me since the cupcakes overflowed instead.

Bake for 25 minutes and let it cool on a wire rack. Let it cool completely before you flip the cake out. This takes some patience!

Blueberry Upside Cake
I could stop here…but we need frosting!

I was very disappointed with my google results for paleo frosting. Mostly because a good majority of them included powdered sugar. So not paleo. I figured a lemon glaze would be delicious paired with the blueberries, and a glaze would be much easier to do considering I couldn’t use powdered sugar.

Lemon Glaze

  • 1/2 c. coconut milk (the canned stuff, I only used the thick cream at the top of the can. You know what I’m talking about)
  • 2 Tbsp. coconut oil, melted
  • 2 Tbsp. honey
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. lemon zest

Mix it all together. I stuck mine in the fridge for a little bit so it would thicken some, but you don’t have to. Pour it over the cake. Then eat it.

Blueberry Upside Cake
I decided to garnish it with flowers made with blueberries and slivered almonds.

Yes it paleo. Yes it is “healthy”. BUT it is still a cheat and just because it’s paleo that doesn’t mean you can eat the whole thing. Well you could eat it all, but your friends might be a little mad you didn’t share.

One thought on “Paleo Blueberry Upside Down Cake

Leave a Reply

