Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

After I did the Cadbury cupcakes and people found out I experimented with Reese’, I had several requests for some chocolate peanutbutter cupcakes. Conveniently enough, there was a crawfish boil that weekend so I volunteered to bring dessert (of course). I took it a step further with peanut butter and chocolate swirled frosting. Yes, you read that right. I made 2 batches of frosting- one peanut butter and one chocolate, filled the bag with both and frosted away. GREAT DECISION. Seriously, chocolate and peanut butter were just meant to be together.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

 

Which brings me to two others that were just meant to be together. There was one girl in particular who REALLY wanted some chocolate peanut butter cupcakes. And one guy in particular who REALLY wanted to propose to her. So someone received a special Reese’s cupcake at the crawfish boil. She said yes, by the way!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes
How could you say no?

I used this chocolate cupcake recipe again (I told you it was my default!). After filling the cups with batter I placed a Reese’s cup in each one. So good. As for frosting, I made a batch of chocolate frosting and a batch of peanut butter frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temp
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 2-4 cups powdered sugar

Cream the peanut butter, butter, and heavy cream together. Gradually add the powdered sugar until you reach a desired consistency. You can add more cream if needed.

Fill a piping bag with peanut butter frosting on one side, chocolate on the other. It’s messy work, and it won’t be perfectly 50%, but the swirls are pretty so it doesn’t matter!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

 

Leave a Reply

