Cowgirl Cookies

I’m not a huge cookie fan (although I am a huge cookie dough fan), but I do love a good oatmeal cookie. I came across a recipe called “Cowgirl Cookies”, decided that looked good, then completely changed the recipe based on what I had and wanted. Yes…I realize I do this a lot. Can I even call it the same thing after doing that? I am, purely for lack of a better name. One of my friends is pretty well known for her “Cowboy cookies” which I think are pretty similar to these, but I thought that since these were intended for a bachelorette party and we were going to the rodeo cookoff that I should keep the “cowgirl”.

Cowgirl Cookies

ANYWAYS. The thing I like about these kinds of cookies is that you can mix in whatever you want.  I decided to go with M&M’s, butterscotch chips, raisins, and walnuts. But you could do whatever you want. Chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, peanut butter or cinnamon chips, craisins, pecans, you get the idea. I took it a step further and soaked the raisins in rum…the raisins absorb the rum and you can actually taste the rum flavor in the cookies. I always soak raisins/craisins before I use them in baking, just so they don’t soak up the moisture from whatever I’m baking. This applies more to muffins/cupcakes, honestly I just wanted rum-soaked raisins in my cookies!!

Seriously
Seriously...throw in whatever you want.

Cowgirl Cookies

  • 1 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup cooking oats
  • 3/4 cup m&ms
  • 3/4 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 slightly beaten egg
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
This is where I have to summon all my will power and not "taste test" half the dough.

Preheat to 350*. Stir all the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. (This includes all your mix-ins). Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Use a spoon to work it all together. You may even need to use your hands to get everything incorporated. Roll the cookie dough into 1 1/2 inch balls, place on baking sheet and bake for about 10 minutes.

Ultimate gooey deliciousness

Because I had to travel with these, I actually cooked them for a little extra so that they wouldn’t fall apart en route. But they are very gooey and very tasty. I actually doubled the recipe and still ran out by the end of the weekend. And then the next weekend, upon seeing the same people, I was asked if I brought any cookies. So needless to say, these cookies were a hit!

Leave a Reply

