Nutella Cake Bars

My brother made the unfortunate decision to go to law school. Which means he studies constantly and reads a lot. He also made the unfortunate decision to go to a law school not anywhere close to me, so he had to relinquish his position as primary taste tester (at least during the school year). However, because I am SUCH a good sister, I send him care packages of baked goods every now and then. Cupcakes aren’t exactly mail-friendly, so I always have to come up with something that will make it across Texas in one piece. My brother and his roommates made it known that they wanted blondies so I set out looking for a new recipe to try. I came across a recipe for Fluffernutter Cake Bars and they seemed perfect. But I didn’t feel like making a trip to the store so I altered the recipe to fit with what I had. Because I was not going to buy a 12 oz. bag of white chocolate chips when I had a perfectly good 72 oz. bag of chocolate chips.

Chocolate chips
Yeah. That's 4 pounds of chocolate chips.

Anyways. I had chocolate instead of white chocolate, and while peanut butter and chocolate is one of the best combinations ever, NUTELLA seemed like a great life choice/substitute. So I went with it. And I ended up with gooey nutella cake bars.

  • 1 box yellow cake mix (I used white because that’s all I had)
  • 1 large egg
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup creamy nutella
  • 1/2 cup marshmallow creme
  • 14 ounce can sweetened condensed milk
  • 12 ounce bag chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and line a 9×13 inch baking dish with foil and spray with cooking spray.

1. Place cake mix, egg, and butter into a large bowl. Mix until well combined, will be the consistency of thick cookie dough. Press dough into prepared baking pan.

Cake bar crust
cake bar crust

2. Place nutella, marshmallow creme and condensed milk into a large bowl and mix until well combined. Pour over crust then top with chocolate chips. Bake for 23-25 minutes, until cooked through. Center will seem somewhat jiggly, but will set up while cools.

3. Let cool completely, cut into squares and serve.

Nutella Cake Bars
How much do you want to eat these right now

And if you’re wondering- these made it through the mail, but they were devoured pretty shortly after being delivered!!

Leave a Reply

