Texan Pralines

I was recently approached by a bride-to-be to do some pecan pralines for the hotel welcome bags. It’s a Texas wedding after all, and there’s a lot of family coming in from other states, and even other countries. I had never actually made pralines before but was more than happy to take on the project. My dad is actually from Seguin, the “pecan capitol of Texas”…yes, that is their claim to fame. They even have the “world’s largest pecan”, these people seriously love their pecans. My dad always brings me back pecans from there and then I wonder why I even BOTHER with store bought pecans..it’s just not the same.

Seguin, Texas
Wow...world's largest pecan!! But not edible..sooo what's the point?

But anyways, I digress. Baking in general requires a certain amount of patience, but pralines…well if you jump the gun on these, you’re screwed. There’s a lot of waiting and stirring and then at the right moment, you have to act FAST. Which is why we will call my first batch a learning experience. The second batch however turned out  just right and just delicious.

I managed to dig out a praline recipe from Pape’s Pecan House, which is where we always get our pecans. I did some perusing of the site and was unable to find any recipes on there, so I’m glad I have their collection of pecan recipes from many years ago! Sorry I don’t have more pictures, but there’s no time for pictures when making these!

Texan Pralines

  • 1 1/2 cup pecan halves (I actually chopped up pecans into slightly smaller pieces, personal preference)
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 3 Tbsp. margarine or butter
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda

Cook sugar, milk, and baking soda together until the syrup forms a soft ball when tested in cold water Remove from stove and add pecans, vanilla, and butter. Beat until the mixture begins to hold shape. Drop by spoon on to wax paper that has been sprinkled generously with salt.

Pecan Pralines
Butter, sugar, and pecans...so simple yet so delicious!
Leave a Reply

