Chocolate Paleo Cupcakes

I finally did it. It goes against all of my cupcake beliefs, but I made a cupcake without flour, sugar, or dairy (I know what you’re thinking- say whaaat??!?). And I have to say, for my first attempt these actually turned out pretty well. They caved a little in the center, but I’m pretty sure I can fix that with oven temperature and bake time.

Chocolate Paleo Cupcakes
...but it LOOKS like a normal cupcake...

Chocolate Paleo Cupcakes

  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp. coarse salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey

Preheat the oven to 375*. In a medium bowl, mix together, the almond flour, cocoa, salt, and baking soda. In a seperate bowl, mix together the eggs, oil, and honey. Add the flour mixture to the egg mixture and mix until combined (For all the baking nerds out there- there is NO chance of overmixing this, so mix away!). Pour 1/4 cup of batter into each baking cup (This makes about 10). Bake on 375* for about 20-22 minutes.

Chocolate “Primal” Frosting

Okay so this frosting isn’t ENTIRELY paleo…I did use cream cheese. You’ll get over it. The fact that I made a frosting without ANY powdered sugar is pretty amazing.

  • 4 oz. 100% unsweetened chocolate (you can use 60 or 70%, I went hardcore and used 100%)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1/2 Tbsp. vanilla
  • 3 oz. cream cheese
  • dash coarse salt

In a saucepan, melt the chocolate and oil. Remove from heat. In a bowl, beat together the honey, vanilla, salt, and cream cheese. Add in the chocolate mixture. Refrigerate until you are ready to frost.

Not as “sinful” as the Better Than Sex Cupcakes, but still a tasty treat for us paleo folks!!

Chocolate Paleo Cupcake
...Are you sure there's no sugar??
One thought on “Chocolate Paleo Cupcakes

  1. These were amaaaaaaazing! I will probably be requesting a whole batch at some point….which I’m pretty sure negates the fact that they’re Paleo…oh well!

Leave a Reply

