Pomegranate Relish

My fascination with pomegranates started back in 5th grade. I had a teacher who loved Greek mythology and I suppose I learned more about Greek mythology than the average 5th grader. Pomegranates were often mentioned in the stories (I mean…it is the “fruit of the gods”) and it always seemed like some exotic mythical fruit. Not something I could pick up at HEB. Luckily for me, it IS something I can find in the produce section and so that’s what I decided to get this week.

Tasty little gems

I know pomegranates are slightly intimidating…one of those fruits that you just kind of stare at and wonder, “How exactly do I cut this? What do I do?”. It’s actually pretty easy to get the seeds out (yes you eat the seeds). If you’re not sure how to do it- google “how to cut a pomegranate” and you can figure it out.

Nom nom nom

I find it easier to remove the seeds by separating the sections in a bowl of water- the juice is less likely to get all over you and your kitchen. So I removed the seeds, drained them, and then got ready to make some pomegranate relish. Honestly, I just saw the words “pomegranate” and “pistachio” and knew this was something I had to make. There’s actually no cooking/baking involved at all, but I still wore an apron so I figured that made it eligible for a post. Plus it’s delicious.

Between cutting the pomegranate and shelling the pistachios, this is definitely a labor of love. But it’s worth it. Just mix all the ingredients in a bowl, season with pepper and salt if you want, and that’s IT!!

Final product!

Pomegranate Relish

  • 1 1/4 C pomegranate seeds
  •  2/3 C unsalted shelled pistachios, coarsely chopped
  • 1/3 C fresh parsley, coarsely chopped
  • 2 1/2 T olive oil
  • 2 1/2 t fresh lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

One pomegranate provided roughly that amount of seeds, it doesn’t need to be exact. I also pulsed the pistachios in the food processor just because I wanted smaller pieces…yes I am a texture eater. I plan on eating this with chicken that has been seasoned with mint, oregano, cinnamon, coriander, cumin, and nutmeg. And if you’re not doing the whole30 like me, you can add some Greek yogurt for a little extra flare. Between this and the lamb and eggplant I plan on having later this week, I feel like some Turkish influence has found it’s way into my kitchen!

Leave a Reply

