Baked Apple Chips

Fair warning- this is a healthy baking post. Keep in mind I don’t believe in “low-cal”, “guilt-free”, yada yada yada desserts- if I’m having dessert I want it to be the real thing. However today I decided to take on a different type of baking task that wasn’t dessert- apple chips. One of my friends had recently asked me about good paleo snack ideas that she could carry around with her all day. Specifically she asked if there were any crunchy snacks that might “replace” her chips. Enter apple chips. One of my favorite salads has apple chips on it so I knew if I did it right they could taste good, so here’s what I ended up doing.

Preheat the oven to 250* (I originally started at 200*, but they were taking a long time so I upped it to 250*). First cut up an apple into thin slices. There are several ways to do this since there is not “right” shape of a chip, but I cut the apple in half vertically and then sliced each half into thin pieces. I cut out the core and seed area but you don’t have to. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and then layer the slices on the baking sheet.

Apples Pre-Oven

Sprinkle the slices with cinnamon. If you’re not doing the whole30 like me and feel like adding some brown sugar- go for it. They are sweet enough on their own though. Put those suckers in the oven, set the timer for 1.5 hours, and then somehow occupy yourself for 1.5 hours. Obviously this is not a “I’m hungry and want to eat right now” snack. About halfway through you can flip the slices to be fair to both sides.

Mmmm patiently waiting for the timer to go off!

See how the slices are starting to curl up? That means it’s WORKING!! Mine actually took longer than 1.5 hours…but I also started the oven at 200*. When it gets close to 1.5 hours you can eyeball and see how they’re doing. Definitely try and slice the apple evenly- otherwise they won’t finish baking at the same time. When they’re done, take them out, let them cool off, and either pack them up to save for on the go or eat them right then and there. Like I might have done. Oops.

JUST LIKE POTATO CHIPS! Kind of.

There’s really no way to mess these up. Even if you cut thick slices and they don’t bake into a crispy chip…you still have a slice of apple.  And the next post will be full of sugar and calories, don’t you worry!

Leave a Reply

