No Such Thing As Too Much Frosting

Frosting. Mmmmm. I probably get more comments on my frosting than I do anything else.  Which is funny because I never use a recipe when making frosting. That said, I do have a recipe that I roughly follow for buttercream frosting. The good stuff. My mom actually obtained this recipe over 20 years ago. She lost it at some point over the years and managed to track it down again through some cake stores (this was BEFORE you could rely on google for providing all your information). No worries- I’ve made sure the recipe was copied down in my recipe book and now I’m sharing it here with you guys. I wish I could tell you where it came from since I obviously can’t take credit for it…but I have no idea where it came from.

Here’s a cake I did a few days ago for a couple that just found out they’re having a baby girl (hence the pink delicious buttercream frosting). Unfortunately I did not take more pictures during the process- this was in the midst of all my holiday baking and things got a little hectic.

I baked 3 layers of this chocolate cake and made an expresso buttercream filling to with it. Don’t get mad at me- I don’t have a recipe for the filling. Or the frosting for that matter. The best I can tell you is that I thinned out some buttercream frosting with amaretto coffee creamer and then added some expresso powder. The frosting is buttercream frosting with extra vanilla and almond extract. The cake was super rich and moist and the frosting balanced it out perfectly! And it looked so pink and girly- so appropriate for the occasion!

Buttercream Frosting

  • 2 lbs powdered sugar
  • 1/2 c. hot water (or warm milk)
  • 1 1/2 c. shortening
  • 1 tsp. clear flavoring (or vanilla, or almond)
  • dash of salt

Put salt in mixing bowl and add water. Add half of the powdered sugar and blend.  Gradually add half of the second half and mix until moistened. Add shortening and blend until smooth. Gradually add the rest of the sugar until it is blended in. Add clear flavoring and beat at medium speed until smooth. This recipe frosts a 2 layer 8 inch cake.

Sidenote: For those of you freaking out that there’s no butter in the buttercream- you can use butter in place of the shortening. However if you plan on decorating/piping with this frosting, I would use at least 50/50 shortening/butter. Butter softens and can cause the frosting to be difficult to work with!

Leave a Reply

