Paleo Pumpkin Spice Cookies

I have a confession to make.

Let me preface this with the fact that I am a fan of BSpears and Gaga. You can say what you want, but I enjoy singing and dancing around to their songs. It’s Britney, bitch. Until recently I had been of the opinion that Miley should have stopped after Party in the USA (much like Billy Ray should have stopped after Achy Breaky Heart). However I think Miley might have outdone BSpears and Gaga in regards to their latest albums. Yeah, I said it. Although “We Can’t Stop” probably goes in my Top 5 Worst Songs of 2013, the rest of the album is actually pretty catchy. It doesn’t top Circus or Fame…but if we’re going off most recent releases, I think Miley wins.

Now that I have that off my chest, I can share my paleo treats of the week. I had some leftover pumpkin, so I just googled until I found a good pumpkin dessert recipe. My main criteria was that I had all the ingredients because I didn’t feel like going to the store. Lazy? …..or efficient? Definitely efficient. I found this recipe over at Against All Grain. I made a few tweaks based on the ingredients I had and was pretty pleased with the results. I especially liked the frosting- it’s hard to do a good paleo frosting!  These cookies are chewy and taste exactly how a spice cookie should. Enjoy!

Paleo Pumpkin Spice Cookies

Paleo Pumpkin Spice Cookies

Paleo Pumpkin Spice Cookies
  • 2½ cups almond flour
  • 2 Tbsp. coconut flour
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • ½ tsp. ginger
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp. cloves
  •  ¼ tsp. sea salt
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • ½ cup pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
    Icing
  • 2 Tbsp. honey
  • 4 Tbsp. coconut butter
  • 4 Tbsp. coconut milk
  • 1 tsp. butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Preheat oven to 350. Mix together the dry ingredients in a bowl. Blend the honey, pumpkin, egg, and vanilla in a food processor. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture. Use a cookie scoop to make small balls and place on your cookie sheet (either line cookie sheet with parchment paper or grease it). Use a glass with a flat bottom to flatten each cookie. Bake for 15-16 minutes at 350 degrees.

Paleo Pumpkin Spice Cookies
To make the frosting, blend all of the ingredients in a blender or food processor (I used a magic bullet). You can adjust the consistency of the frosting by adding coconut milk.

Paleo Pumpkin Spice Cookies

Paleo Pumpkin Spice Cookies

2 thoughts on “Paleo Pumpkin Spice Cookies

Leave a Reply

