Paleo Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Frosting

Yes this does make two paleo posts in a row. And I do have some other recipes I could post about. But I had to share this one. I’ve made paleo cupcakes before, and honestly never really ran into any issues with them. The frosting, however, is what requires so much creativity. How do you mix up frosting when you are not allowed to use ANY of the ingredients? No powdered sugar, no shortening, no butter, no cream cheese…you’re left with nothing. We had a paleo potluck party for our gym this past weekend and so I set out to find some good paleo baking recipes. I came across caramel pecan bars at paleomg and thought there was no way I could make a paleo version of caramel. So of course I had to try it.

Unfortunately I do not have a food processor. It’s terrible. I have a magic bullet, but it only gets me so far. I looked at the recipe for the caramel pecan bars and decided it would be frustrating to try it without a processor, so I opted to make chocolate cupcakes and use the caramel topping as frosting instead. And oh. my. goodness. It actually tasted like caramel. And let me tell you, it takes a LOT more will power to say no to paleo treats than the good butter and sugar stuff. Because there’s a tiny voice saying “It’s paleo, it may not super healthy but it’s not the worst choice!” The amazing thing about this caramel frosting…there’s basically just two ingredients. Dates and coconut milk. Amazing.

Dates

Dates…ugly little suckers but they sure taste good!

Paleo Chocolate Cupcakes (~14 cupcakes)

  • 3/4 c. coconut flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/3 c. cocoa powder
  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 1 c. coconut milk
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2-3 Tbsp. almond butter (Sorry…I kind of just added some in and didn’t measure it. But that sounds good)

Preheat the over to 350*. Mix all of the ingredients together. To be honest, I think I added some more flour in there to thicken the batter up some. Probably no more than 1/4 cup though. I know you’re loving my exact measurements right now. Divide batter into the baking cups and bake for 18 minutes or until it passes the toothpick test.

Salted Caramel Frosting

  • about 30 dates, pitted and soaked in water for about an hour
  • 1/2 c. coconut milk
  • coarse salt

Use a food processor to break up the dates. Use the coconut milk to thin out the frosting to the consistency you want- so if you don’t want to use all of the coconut milk, by all means don’t. When the cupcakes are cool, frost them and sprinkle with the salt. Then try not to eat all of them.

Paleo chocolate cupcakes with salted caramel frosting

This frosting definitely doesn’t lend itself to piping so it doesn’t look pretty, but it still tastes good!

3 thoughts on “Paleo Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Frosting

  1. Pingback: Paleo Salted Caramel Fudge Bars | The Sassy Apron

  2. Pingback: Paleo Almond Butter Blondies | The Sassy Apron

  3. Pingback: Paleo Vanilla Cupcakes | The Sassy Apron

Leave a Reply

