Molten Lava Cupcakes

I’ve been slacking a little bit in the blog department…my apologies. Ironically I’ve actually been baking up a storm, sometimes almost forgetting to take pictures of it all. And let’s be honest…you want pictures. No one cares about baking descriptions, you want to see it. Well, here you go. Gooey melted chocolate goodness.

Molten Lava Cupcakes

Drooling yet??

I had another bridal shower to do, and the bride requested chocolate. Don’t get me wrong- I love chocolate. But I felt like that’s all I had done lately. I even tried to work other flavors in there- salted caramel, raspberry, etc. Nope, she wanted chocolate. Or dark chocolate. I had come across these a few weeks earlier, so when she refused to budge from chocolate…well I decided she would get chocolate. (Note: The bride happened to be one of my friends, not a stranger, so I didn’t feel guilty at all trying to persuade her to pick something else). Chocolate=Molten Lava Chocolate Cake. You’ve probably had it before at some restaurant- the huge piece of chocolate cake with a warm melted center and a scoop of ice cream on top. Yum. Well this cupcake has the same melted delicious center. For the cupcake I used (yes, again) this chocolate cake recipe. You don’t mess with what works. For the center I made a chocolate ganache, but instead of filling the cupcakes AFTER baking, I filled them before. It’s so simple!

Chocolate Filling

  • 3/4 cup whipping cream
  • 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Heat cream in a sauce pan until hot, but not boiling. Add in chocolate chips and stir until the chips are completely melted and mixed in. Chill for about an hour, until it is thick.Stir it occasionally throughout that hour.

After you fill the cupcake wrappers with the cake batter, add about a teaspoon to the center of each cupcake. Bake at 350* for about 20 minutes. I topped these off with chocolate frosting. Yes, more chocolate.

Molten Lava Cupcakes

The cupcakes at the shower.

However, when I was frosting these I actually ran out of frosting. Yeah…that’s what I get for not following a recipe and just guessing measurements. But this time that let to a GENIUS discovery. I was standing there with my sad little unfrosted cupcake, accepting the fact that my taste test cupcake would have to be naked, when I realized this was not the case. Remember how restaurants always serve it with ice cream? I decided to let ice cream serve as the “frosting”. I scooped it on top to make it look like frosting. And then devoured it. Topping it with ice cream is definitely the way to go, although obviously you cannot do that when the cupcakes have to travel or sit out. But if you’re making these for yourself and those in your kitchen…go for the ice cream. You won’t regret it!

Molten Lava Cupcakes

One of my top 5 ideas ever.

Leave a Reply

